Research Training

A crucial part of CIRGET’s mandate is training a new cohort of young researchers. The working groups and seminars organized by CIRGET members are an inherent part of this training, giving students and postdocs a regular opportunity to learn new ideas and techniques, and discuss them with other CIRGET members working in their field. Through the Institut des sciences mathématiques (ISM), students also have access to a wide range of specialized courses. Finally, scientific events aimed particularly at young researchers are frequently organized.

Postdoctoral fellowships

Every year CIRGET welcomes a dozen or so postdoctoral fellows to work closely with the Centre’s members. The research atmosphere in Montreal is dynamic and postdocs are invited to participate fully in the colloquia, workshops, and seminars that take place on a regular basis.

Various sources of funding are available. Canadian residents and citizens can apply for a postdoctoral fellowship from NSERC, while Quebec residents are also eligible for FRQNT fellowships. All interested parties are strongly urged to apply for a CRM-ISM postdoctoral fellowship and to specify on their application the names of the members of CIRGET with whom they would like to work. Applications for a CRM-ISM postdoctoral fellowship will be automatically considered for fellowships supported by other sources: CIRGET, research chairs, individual research grants.

Graduate Studies

Students interested in pursuing their graduate studies under the direction of a CIRGET member are encouraged to contact that member and submit an application to the host university. Funding possibilities include:

Undergraduate Research Internships

Undergraduate students interested in doing a summer research internship at CIRGET are encouraged to contact the professor with whom they would like to work by the end of January. Several sources of funding exist:

Stages et études

Une partie fondamentale du mandat du CIRGET est la formation d’une nouvelle cohorte de chercheurs. Ainsi les groupes de travail et les séminaires organisés par les membres du CIRGET jouent un rôle fondamental dans cette formation, permettant aux étudiants et aux stagiaires postdoctoraux d’apprendre des nouvelles idées et techniques et d’en discuter avec d’autres membres du CIRGET qui travaillent dans le même domaine. Par ailleurs, grâce à l’Institut des sciences mathématiques (ISM), les étudiants ont accès à un grand éventail de cours spécialisés. Enfin, des événements scientifiques ciblant des jeunes chercheurs sont souvent organisés.

Stages postdoctoraux

Chaque année le CIRGET accueille une douzaine de stagiaires postdoctoraux qui travaillent de façon étroite avec les membres du Centre. L’ambiance de travail à Montréal est dynamique, et tous les stagiaires sont invités à participer aux colloques, ateliers et séminaires qui ont lieu régulièrement.

Plusieurs sources de financement sont disponibles. Les citoyens et résidents permanents du Canada peuvent poser leur candidature à une bourse postdoctorale du CRSNG, et les résidents du Québec sont également admissibles au concours du FRQNT. Tous ceux qui aimeraient travailler au sein du CIRGET sont invités à faire une demande de bourse postdoctorale CRM-ISM, en indiquant sur leur demande les noms des membres du Centre avec qui ils aimeraient travailler. Les demandes de bourses postdoctorales CRM-ISM sont automatiquement prises en considération pour des bourses financées par d’autres sources, telles que le CIRGET, les chaires de recherche et les subventions de recherche individuelles.

Les études aux cycles supérieurs

Les étudiants qui désirent poursuivre leurs études aux cycles supérieurs sous la direction d’un membre du CIRGET sont invités à contacter ce membre et de soumettre une demande d’admission à l’université d’attache. Plusieurs possibilités de financement existent, dont:

Stages de recherche de premier cycle

Les étudiants de premier cycle qui aimeraient faire un stage de recherche au sein du CIRGET sont priés de contacter un professeur avec qui ils souhaitent travailler avant la fin du mois de janvier. Plusieurs sources de financement existent, dont: